Monday, August 13, 2012

The Third Policeman by Flann O'Brien



This book came up the other day in a discussion of literary conundrums, and I realized I'd never shared this fun, two-minute review from Abe Books.
Further reading: The Irish Face: Redefining the Irish Portrait.

5 comments:

  1. I cannot stress it enough---serious readers need to discover The Third Policeman and also At-Swim-Two-Birds. If you prefer dry wit and an imagination left unchecked, look no further. Fans of Kafka, Pynchon, Nabokov, Waugh, Vonnegut, or even Wodehouse would feel at home here. For that matter, if you like David Lynch, Stanley Kubrick, or Monty Python, this is the author for you.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, I love all of those people, and I am definitely getting my hands on both books!

      Delete
  2. Couldn't agree more. I definitely always thought of Kafka with a better sense of humor. Though critically lauded, this one's shamefully overlooked...

    ReplyDelete
  3. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE that review IF FOR NOTHING ELSE that she cautions anyone who will pick this book up to NOT READ THE FORWARD, INTRODUCTION, NOR EVEN THE DESCRIPTION ON THE BACK OF THE BOOK!!!!!

    Shame shame SHAAAAAAME on the designers of the edition she has in her hands. Who in the 'h' 'e' double-hockey sticks puts spoilers in the introduction?????? >:-(

    ps- this book rates extremely high in my list of favorites.

    ReplyDelete